Ionian Islands (Greek: Ιόνια νησιά) are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Heptanese, i.e. "the Seven Islands", but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones.

Corfu (Greek: Κέρκυρα) is the second largest of the Ionian Islands. Its history is full of battles and conquests. Castles punctuating strategic locations across the island are a legacy of these struggles. Two of these castles enclose its capital, which is the only city in Greece to be surrounded in such a way. As a result, Corfu's capital has been officially declared a Kastropolis ("castle city") by the Greek government. In 2007, the city's old quarter was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.

  • - Sights: The most notable of its museums and libraries are located in the city, and are The Archaeological Museum, The Museum of Asian art of Corfu, The Museum of Asian art of Corfu, The Banknote Museum, The Byzantine Museum of Antivouniotissa, Kapodistrias Museum, The Music Museum , The Public Library of Corfu, The Serbian Museum of Corfu and the Solomos Museum and the Corfiot Studies Society.


International Airports
Zakynthos Airport "D.Solomos"
Kefallinia Airport
Kerkyra Airport "Ioannis Kapodistrias"

Weather (average)
January: 10°C |50°F
February: 10°C | 50°F
March: 12°C | 54°F
April: 15°C | 59°F
May: 18°C | 64°F
June: 23°C | 73°F
July: 25°C | 77°F
August: 25°C | 77°F
September: 23°C | 73°F
October: 19°C | 66°F
November: 15°C | 59°F
December: 11°C | 52°F

Ionian Islands or Heptanese
Corfu or Kerkyra (Κέρκυρα)
Paxi (Παξοί)
Lefkada (Λευκάδα)
Ithaki (Ιθάκη)
Kefalonia (Κεφαλλονιά)
Zakynthos (Ζάκυνθος)
Kythira (Κύθηρα)