Geographic Regions

Attica (Greek: Αττική) is an administrative region that encompasses the entire metropolitan area of Athens, the capital of Greece. Located on the eastern edge of Central Greece, contains within its area the cities of Piraeus, Eleusis, Megara, Laurium, and Marathon, as well as a small part of the Peloponnese peninsula […]


Macedonia (Greek: Μακεδονία) is a geographic region of Greece in the southern Balkans. Macedonia is the largest and second most populous Greek region, dominated by mountains in the interior and the port cities of Thessaloniki (or Salonika) and Kavala on its southern coastline.Thessaloniki (Greek: Θεσσαλονίκη) is the second largest city and […]


Thrace (Greek: Θράκη) is a geographic region of Greece, between the Nestos and Evros rivers in the northeast of the country.Alexandroupoli (Greek: Αλεξανδρούπολη) is an important port and commercial center of northeastern Greece. Landmarks in Alexandroupoli include the city's lighthouse in the port, the archaeological sites of the Mesimvria Zone and […]


Thessalia or Thessaly (Greek: Θεσσαλία)  lies in central Greece and borders the regions of Macedonia on the north, Epirus on the west, Central Greece on the south and the Aegean Sea on the east. The Thessaly region also includes the Sporades islands.Volos (Greek: Βόλος) is a coastal port city in […]


Epirus (Greek: Ήπειρος) is a traditional geographic and modern administrative region in northwestern Greece. It borders the regions of West Macedonia and Thessaly to the east, West Greece to the south, the Ionian Sea and Ionian Islands to the west and Albania to the north. - Sights: Sights to see in Parga […]


Central Greece (Greek: Στερεά Ελλάδα) occupies the eastern half of the traditional region of Central Greece, including the island of Evia. To the south it borders the regions of Attica and the Peloponnese, to the west the region of West Greece and to the north the regions of Thessaly and […]


Peloponnese (Greek: Πελοπόννησος) is a peninsula and geographic region in southern Greece. It is separated from the central part of the country by the Gulf of Corinth.- Sights: The Peloponnese possesses many important archaeological sites dating from the Bronze Age through to the Middle Ages. Among the most notable are Bassae (ancient […]


Aegean Islands (Greek: Νησιά Αιγαίου) are the group of islands in the Aegean Sea.Santorini (Greek: Σαντορίνη) or Thira is an island in the southern Aegean Sea, about 200 km (120 mi) southeast of Greece's mainland.  The island is the site of one of the largest volcanic eruptions in recorded history: the Minoan eruption (sometimes […]


Ionian Islands (Greek: Ιόνια νησιά) are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Heptanese, i.e. "the Seven Islands", but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones.Corfu (Greek: Κέρκυρα) is the second largest of the Ionian Islands. Its history is full of […]


Crete (Greek: Κρήτη) is the largest and most populous of the Greek islands. Crete and a number of surrounding islands and islets constitute the region of Crete. The capital and the largest city is Heraklion. Crete forms a significant part of the economy and cultural heritage of Greece, while retaining its own local […]